Follow us on
join us facebook
Indira Sivasailam medal Lalgudi G.J.R.Krishnan
and Vijayalakshmi
CHENNAI, August 22: Siblings Lalgudi G.J.R.Krishnan and Vijayalakshmi have been chosen for the prestigious Indira Sivasailam Endowment Medal this year.

The Indira Sivasailam Endowment Fund was established in 2010 by Ms. Mallika Srinivasan, Chairperson, Tractors and Farm Equipment Ltd. (TAFE), as a tribute to her mother late Indira Sivasailam, a disciple and patron of traditional art forms, especially Carnatic music.

Instituted under the auspices of The Music Academy, Madras, the endowment fund aims to encourage and recognize Carnatic musicians par excellence in their prime. The winner is chosen every year to receive the Indira Sivasailam Endowment medal and perform at The Music Academy.

"The violinist duo through their immaculate performances and unique ability to innovate within the Carnatic music framework have enthralled audiences world over. Their concentrated practice, determination to excel and aesthetic compositions have made them a renowned name in the country and abroad," a release said.

The selection is done by a panel comprising members from the Endowment Committee of The Music Academy, Madras, and Ms. Mallika Srinivasan.

The artistes are judged on the basis of an established set of criteria - excellence in performance, audience appeal, adherence to classical tradition while innovating within its framework, depth of knowledge, demonstrated efforts to disseminate knowledge and the ability to bring about a greater and deeper public appreciation of Carnatic music.

"Lalgudi Krishnan and Lalgudi Vijayalakshmi are practitioners of the ‘Lalgudi Bani’ founded and evolved by Lalgudi Jayaraman - their father and guru. Together, they bring the traditional Lalgudi style alive, adorned with their own innovations. Their style of music rests on its ability to reveal the raga of the song in the shortest span of time, and naturally facilitate the choice of tempo, gamakas, and other musical nuances making it a refreshing experience for the audience on every occasion,'' the release added.

The Indira Sivasailam Endowment Concert will be held at The Music Academy on September 22.

Since 2010, musicians such as Sudha Ragunathan, Sanjay Subrahmanyan, Aruna Sairam, Bombay Jayashri Ramnath, T. M. Krishna, Malladi brothers (Malladi Sreeram Prasad and Malladi Ravikumar) and sisters Ranjani and Gayatri have been bestowed with this award.